MLS® ID: PABU489200
5286 MOYER ROAD
PIPERSVILLE, Pennsylvania, 18947 $339,000
The Moyer farm has deep roots in Bucks County history. In 1850, the Moyer family purchased 90 acres of land spanning northwest to Groveland road and southeast to Point Pleasant Pike (the full length of today~s Moyer road). The farmstead served as a dairy farm continuously for 105 years. A member of the Myers family married into the Moyer family and so at that point the Myers family owned and worked the Moyer Road farm. The property ceased being a working dairy farm sometime in the mid 1950~s and was eventually occupied by to elderly widowed or unmarried sisters until their deaths in the early 1960~s. in 1962, the current farmhouse and surrounding land was sectioned off into a 5-acre parcel and sold to a redeveloper (what we call a ~flipper~ today). The developer added running water, bathrooms, a modern kitchen, modern electric service and heat to 60% of the farmhouse. Until 1962, the house still used a Franklin stove, fireplaces, an outhouse and the well water pumped outside of the house (which still provides water if you hand pump it a bit). The larger parcel of land and the barn were purchased by the Yurkus family for their dairy farm and worked until the early 1980~s. At that point, all of the farmland was subdivided for houses and the barn was demolished for its precious wood and fieldstone. The original part of the house, completed sometime in 1850, was a small wooden 2 story structure (the right side of the house when facing it from the driveway). It has two original circular staircases, a hand dug basement and a classic cooking fireplace which is currently enclosed in wooden cabinetry. This part of the house was the kitchen for about 50 years after the completion of the main fieldstone section. The large rectangular fieldstone main house was built between 1851 and 1860 along with the now defunct large fieldstone (bank barn) dairy barn, an icehouse, horse barn, henhouse, pig pen, springhouse, woodshop, carriage keep, and summer kitchen shed. Remnants of the spring house can still be found slightly south of the farm. The summer kitchen, horse barn and carriage keep all remain although have been slightly modified over time. The third section of the house (the left side when facing the house from the driveway) was added in the early 20th century, at which time a great deal was done to the house, adding revamped porches, and gingerbread details to the wood trim and extensive interior renovation. The house has two water cisterns located below the porches which provided the vast amount of water needed for the cows~ water troughs. In 1964, the Willey family purchased the original house and 5 acres and completed the developer~s renovations. They added a third bathroom, front brick patio, added heating to the remaining part of the house, and raised the ceiling in the original part of the house. The house today remains a charming reminder of the past and is ready for a new generation to redevelop the property and to showcase its historic features.